Safaricom's Mpesa mobile money transfer service has formed a strategic partnership with Western Union, enabling Kenyans residing in over 45 countries to access international money transfer services. This collaborative effort currently operates in 45 countries, allowing individuals to conduct transactions by visiting a participating Western Union Agent. One of the distinguishing features of this service, setting it apart from conventional cash-to-cash transfers, is that the sender specifies the recipient's mobile phone number at the time of initiating the funds transfer.

Western Union is widely recognized as a leading provider of international money transfer services, with a global presence spanning numerous countries. Unlike regular Mpesa transactions, the sender does not necessarily need to possess a mobile phone. However, the option to provide the sender's mobile phone number ensures additional convenience and security. Following the successful transfer of funds, the sender receives a receipt and a text message from Western Union confirming that the money has been sent.

Requirements for utilizing this service are as follows:Recipients in Kenya must have an Mpesa account to access the funds or register within 21 days upon receiving a text message regarding the transaction.
Senders are not required to have an Mpesa account to avail themselves of this service.
The maximum amount that can be sent is approximately KShs.35,000, with certain factors dependent on the originating country.
Transaction fees are charged to the sender based on the country from which the money is being sent, while the recipient incurs no charges for the transaction.

Once the transaction is complete, the recipient receives a notification text message and can promptly withdraw the funds from any Mpesa agent across the country. This service has been facilitating transfers between the United Kingdom and Kenya since 2009, and its expansion to other territories represents a significant milestone. Safaricom and Western Union initially launched this collaboration in 2008.

The list of participating countries includes:
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • American Samoa
  • Malaysia
  • Hong Kong
  • Singapore
  • Greece
  • Senegal
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Cameroon
  • Jordan
  • Yemen
  • Cote d'Ivoire
  • Mali
  • Benin
  • Netherlands
  • United States of America
  • United Kingdom
  • Canada
  • Switzerland
  • Tanzania
  • Italy
  • Burkina Faso
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Kuwait
  • Oman
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Pakistan
  • Guam
  • Niger
  • Russia
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Sweden
  • Ireland
  • Spain
  • Botswana
  • Bahrain
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • France
  • Lebanon
  • Norway
  • Finland

This extensive network of participating countries underscores the global reach of Safaricom's Mpesa and Western Union's collaboration, enabling seamless cross-border money transfers for Kenyan individuals and families.